RESOLUTION NO. 827

RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE PUBLIC, EDUCATION, GOVERNMENT (PEG) ACCESS COMMISSION, NUMBER OF APPOINTEES AND THEIR RESPECTIVE TERMS.

WHEREAS, Stayton Municipal Code (SMC) Section 4.04.050 provides for the establishment of an Public, Education, Government Access Commission to promulgate operational guidelines and to monitor community access issues in respect to Public Access cable television channels;

WHEREAS, SMC 4.04.050 also provides that the number of appointees to the Access Commission and their respective terms shall be, from time to time, determined by the Stayton City Council by resolution; and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate and desirable that such a resolution be passed at this time to clarify with specificity the makeup and terms of office of the members of the Access Commission and;

WHEREAS, the Access Commission appointed by the Stayton City Council shall develop bylaws and guidelines to evaluate operations and recommend policies and procedures governing Access Channels to the Stayton City Council and;

WHEREAS, members of the Commission will likely be involved in issues such as determining the operation of the new PEG access channel(s), selecting an access provider and possible implementation of a PEG fee and/or evaluating the sources of funding for PEG access and ongoing oversight of the PEG access channel(s) and;

WHEREAS, the Access Commission may be responsible for all matters relating to PEG activities as assigned by the Stayton City Council such as frequency of meetings, duties of officers and obligations to report to the Council.

NOW THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED that:

- 1. The Stayton Cable Access Commission shall consist of five (5) members, appointed by the Mayor and subject to ratification by the Stayton City Council.
- 2. At least four positions of the Access Commission shall be residents of the City of Stayton. One of the five positions may be an individual who resides outside the Stayton city limits, but within the territory served by the cable television provider serving the City of Stayton.

- 3. Access Commission members shall serve three (3) year terms, initially with two positions expiring in each of two consecutive years and one position expiring in the subsequent (third) year. The appointment year shall be July 1 through June 30.
- On or about October 1, 2008, the appointed Access Commission members, shall 4. determine by lot respective subsequent terms of one, two or three years thereafter, to achieve the rotation prescribed by Section 3 above.

This resolution shall become effective upon the adoption by the Stayton City Council.

ADOPTED BY THE STAYTON CITY COUNCIL this 15th day of Sept. 2008.

CITY OF STAYTON

Signed <u>9-15-08</u> 2008

By: / Virginia L. Honeywell, Mayor

Signed 7-1508 2008

ATTEST:

on Eubank, City Administrator

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

David A. Rhoten, City Attorney